Was my Computer Science degree really worth it?

Originally published at: https://tech.staging.frocentric.io/2021/06/02/was-my-computer-science-degree-really-worth-it/

Originally posted by Xuntos to Was my Computer Science degree really worth it? Originally published on: https://www.yusufcodes.com/was-my-computer-science-degree-really-worth-it Degree Benefits  Gained an overview of fundamentals in the field I was exposed to various topics in my studies, ranging from learning programming fundamentals in Java, to writing and understanding algorithms & data structures in C#. I was…

Great post! This is a particularly interesting topic given how many different routes there are into software engineering careers.

I did a computer science degree too, and I valued a lot of the same things that you did (although managing time really well is something that I’m still working on!). I took a different career path to you though, as I went on to spend almost 14 years doing computer vision research, so I found a lot of the theoretical courses useful too, especially the courses on logic, discrete maths, reasoning about programs, statistics, linear algebra, graphics, parallelisation, concurrency, AI and ML. I also got to do UROP (Undergraduate Research Opportunity Projects) projects during my first two summer holidays and a 6-month internship in my third year, which gave me really valuable experience and helped me to see that a research path was the right direction for me.